Skip to Highlights

In April 1983, the Department of Energy (DOE) defederalized its government-owned and -operated energy technology centers at Laramie, Wyoming, and Grand Forks, North Dakota, by transferring the centers to the Universities of Wyoming and North Dakota, respectively. Pursuant to a congressional request, GAO addressed the following: (1) the centers' funding; (2) the centers' established management structures; (3) the use of the reduction in force process; and (4) the transfer of the centers' property.

Full Report