Skip to main content

National Flood Insurance Program: Actions to Address Repetitive Loss Properties

GAO-04-401T Published: Mar 25, 2004. Publicly Released: Mar 25, 2004.
Jump To:
Skip to Highlights


Floods have been, and continue to be, the most destructive natural hazard in terms of damage and economic loss to the nation. From fiscal year 1992 through fiscal year 2002, about 900 lives were lost due to flooding and flood damages totaled about $55 billion. Some properties have been repeatedly flooded and the subject of federal flood insurance claims. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) within the Department of Homeland Security is responsible for assisting state and local governments, private entities, and individuals to prepare for, mitigate, respond to, and recover from natural disasters, including floods. The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is the primary vehicle for FEMA's efforts to mitigate the impact of floods. The Senate Subcommittee on Economic Policy, Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs, asked GAO to discuss (1) FEMA's approach to flood mitigation, (2) the effect of repetitive loss properties on the NFIP, and (3) recent actions taken or proposed to address the impact of repetitive loss properties on the NFIP.

Full Report

Office of Public Affairs


Disaster relief aidEmergency managementFlood controlFlood insuranceFloodsInsurance claimsInsurance lossesNatural disastersProperty lossesStrategic planning