Skip to main content

GAO Makes 2022 PTAC Appointments

WASHINGTON, DC (October 24, 2022) — Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), today announced the appointment of two new members to the Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC).

“Today I have selected two new members to join in this important effort to help identify and recommend innovative approaches to delivering high-value care for Medicare beneficiaries,” Dodaro said. “PTAC provides insight and guidance to the Department of Health and Human Services and the American people, and we believe these highly-qualified members will add great value to the committee.”

PTAC was created by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA) to improve how the federal Medicare program pays physicians for the care they provide to Medicare beneficiaries. This independent advisory committee makes recommendations to the Secretary of HHS on physician payment models and related topics. The Comptroller General is responsible for appointing members to the committee.

The newly appointed members are Lindsay Botsford, MD, MBA, CMQ, FAAFP and James Walton, DO, MBA, FACP. Their terms will expire in 2025.

Brief biographies of the new committee members follow:

Lindsay Botsford, MD, MBA, CMQ, FAAFP, is a Market Medical Director with One Medical, a national primary care organization. In her role, she leads One Medical’s Iora offices in Texas, which are designed to care for older adults on Medicare. She serves on the governing body for Iora Health Network, as well as in a clinical faculty role at the Tilman J. Fertitta Family College of Medicine at the University of Houston. Dr. Botsford serves on several national and statewide professional committees, including as co-chair of the Primary Care and Chronic Illness Standing Committee through the National Quality Forum. Previously, she served as a Medical Director for Memorial Hermann Medical Group and teaching faculty with the Memorial Family Medicine Residency Program in Houston, Texas. A board-certified Family Medicine physician, Dr. Botsford received her medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine and her MBA from the University of Houston, Bauer College of Business.

James Walton, DO, MBA, FACP, is President and Chief Executive Officer for Genesis Physicians Group, an independent practice association with over 1,600 physician members. In this role, he helped establish Genesis Physicians Group’s accountable care organization. Dr. Walton also serves as an Adjunct Professor at the University of Texas at Dallas, Naveen Jindal School of Management. Previously, he served as Vice President of Network Performance and Chief Health Equity Officer at Baylor Health Care System. Board certified in internal medicine, Dr. Walton received his DO from the University of North Texas Health Science Center and his MBA from the University of Michigan.

For more information about PTAC, contact Lisa Shats, PTAC Designated Federal Officer, at Other calls should be directed to Chuck Young in GAO’s Office of Public Affairs at (202) 512-4800.


The Government Accountability Office, known as the investigative arm of Congress, is an independent, nonpartisan agency that exists to support Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities. GAO also works to improve the performance of the federal government and ensure its accountability to the American people. The agency examines the use of public funds; evaluates federal programs and policies; and provides analyses, recommendations, and other assistance to help Congress make informed oversight, policy, and funding decisions. GAO provides Congress with timely information that is objective, fact-based, nonideological, fair, and balanced. GAO’s commitment to good government is reflected in its core values of accountability, integrity, and reliability.

Next Release:

GAO Makes Appointments to PCORI Governing Board, New Chair and Vice Chair Named


WASHINGTON, DC (September 22, 2022) — Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), today announced the appointment of six new members to the Governing Board of the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI).  Dodaro also reappointed two members and designated the Governing Board’s new chair and vice chair.