U.S. GAO - Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Return to Table of Contents
Certified Development Company Loans (504 Loans) (59.041) obligations in Alabama by county and program
Dollars and shares using Dominant RUCA

County Dominant RUCA Category Total Obligations (FY2002-2004)
Autauga County Urban 983,000
Baldwin County Rural 4,598,000
Barbour County Rural 262,000
Blount County Urban 797,000
Calhoun County Urban 2,519,000
Chambers County Rural 489,000
Clarke County Rural 443,000
Clay County Rural 244,000
Coffee County Rural 670,000
Conecuh County Rural 302,000
Cullman County Rural 1,445,000
Dale County Rural 1,811,000
Dallas County Rural 1,939,000
DeKalb County Rural 679,000
Elmore County Urban 1,188,000
Etowah County Urban 4,133,000
Franklin County Rural 740,000
Geneva County Rural 933,000
Houston County Urban 4,177,000
Jackson County Rural 661,000
Jefferson County Urban 36,377,000
Lauderdale County Urban 874,000
Lee County Urban 1,345,000
Limestone County Rural 191,000
Macon County Rural 217,000
Madison County Urban 14,385,000
Marshall County Rural 3,024,000
Mobile County Urban 4,562,000
Montgomery County Urban 8,659,000
Morgan County Urban 626,000
Pickens County Rural 1,080,000
Pike County Rural 1,481,000
Russell County Urban 695,000
Shelby County Urban 4,822,000
St. Clair County Urban 832,000
Talladega County Rural 3,138,000
Tallapoosa County Rural 1,187,000
Tuscaloosa County Urban 3,206,000
Walker County Rural 305,000
Wilcox County Rural 82,000

For a more detailed discussion of our scope and methodology and additional details see "Rural Economic Development: More Assurance Is Needed That Grant Funding Information Is Accurately Reported."