U.S. GAO - Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Return to Table of Contents
Appalachian Area Development (23.002) obligations in Mississippi by county and program
Dollars and shares using Rural-Urban Continuum

County Rural-Urban Continuum Category Total Obligations (FY2002-2004)
Alcorn County Rural 235,000
Benton County Rural 150,000
Calhoun County Rural 602,852
Chickasaw County Rural 200,000
Choctaw County Rural 40,000
Clay County Rural 0
Hinds County Urban 805,630
Itawamba County Rural 300,000
Kemper County Rural 471,025
Lafayette County Rural 300,000
Lee County Urban 2,975,278
Lowndes County Urban 525,000
Marshall County Urban 698,438
Monroe County Rural 1,179,000
Montgomery County Rural 87,500
Newton County Rural 147,946
Noxubee County Rural 228,685
Oktibbeha County Urban 945,160
Pontotoc County Rural 50,000
Prentiss County Rural 1,503,810
Tishomingo County Rural 31,400
Winston County Rural 300,000
Yalobusha County Rural 524,726

For a more detailed discussion of our scope and methodology and additional details see "Rural Economic Development: More Assurance Is Needed That Grant Funding Information Is Accurately Reported."