U.S. GAO - Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Return to Table of Contents
Appalachian Area Development (23.002) obligations in North Carolina by county and program
Dollars and shares using Dominant RUCA

County Dominant RUCA Category Total Obligations (FY2002-2004)
Alleghany County Rural 200,000
Ashe County Rural 601,504
Avery County Rural 200,000
Buncombe County Urban 145,000
Burke County Urban 145,300
Caldwell County Urban 570,000
Catawba County Urban 300,000
Cherokee County Rural 26,000
Davie County Rural 120,000
Durham County Urban 110,000
Graham County Rural 1,206,000
Haywood County Urban 200,000
Henderson County Urban 532,500
Jackson County Rural 800,000
Macon County Rural 200,000
Madison County Urban 121,133
McDowell County Rural 400,000
Mitchell County Rural 200,000
Orange County Urban 5,000
Rutherford County Rural 187,550
Surry County Rural 614,400
Swain County Rural 269,626
Wake County Urban 1,812,915
Watauga County Rural 360,000
Wilkes County Rural 692,115

For a more detailed discussion of our scope and methodology and additional details see "Rural Economic Development: More Assurance Is Needed That Grant Funding Information Is Accurately Reported."