U.S. GAO - Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Return to Table of Contents
Appalachian Area Development (23.002) obligations in Alabama by county and program
Dollars and shares using Dominant RUCA

County Dominant RUCA Category Total Obligations (FY2002-2004)
Bibb County Rural 200,000
Blount County Urban 314,300
Calhoun County Urban 100,000
Colbert County Urban 75,000
Cullman County Rural 450,000
DeKalb County Rural 260,000
Fayette County Rural 55,693
Franklin County Rural 1,448,733
Hale County Rural 755,440
Jackson County Rural 150,000
Jefferson County Urban 910,000
Lauderdale County Urban 626,900
Lee County Urban 300,999
Macon County Rural 783,000
Marion County Rural 250,000
Marshall County Rural 441,214
Mobile County Urban 40,000
Montgomery County Urban 1,632,799
Morgan County Urban 371,000
Pickens County Rural 1,397,931
St. Clair County Urban 808,395
Talladega County Rural 101,250
Tuscaloosa County Urban 10,774,325
Walker County Rural 99,700
Winston County Rural 552,700

For a more detailed discussion of our scope and methodology and additional details see "Rural Economic Development: More Assurance Is Needed That Grant Funding Information Is Accurately Reported."