U.S. GAO - Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Federal Economic Development Funding (GAO-06-436sp)

Return to Table of Contents
Rural Business Enterprise Grants (10.769) obligations in Michigan by county and program
Dollars and shares using Rural-Urban Continuum

County Rural-Urban Continuum Category Total Obligations (FY2002-2004)
Alpena County Rural 56,000
Antrim County Rural 142,460
Baraga County Rural 50,000
Barry County Urban 50,000
Berrien County Urban 219,500
Charlevoix County Rural 50,000
Eaton County Urban 302,100
Grand Traverse County Urban 25,000
Houghton County Urban 65,000
Huron County Rural 423,700
Ingham County Urban 315,000
Iosco County Rural 93,000
Iron County Rural 124,240
Jackson County Urban 1,000,000
Kalkaska County Rural 40,000
Marquette County Urban 110,000
Menominee County Rural 60,000
Montcalm County Rural 99,900
Muskegon County Urban 30,000
Newaygo County Urban 80,000
Oceana County Rural 283,700
Ontonagon County Rural 56,000
Oscoda County Rural 211,900
Otsego County Rural 120,000
Roscommon County Rural 75,000
Saginaw County Urban 165,000
Shiawassee County Urban 189,900
St. Clair County Urban 40,000
Van Buren County Urban 99,000

For a more detailed discussion of our scope and methodology and additional details see "Rural Economic Development: More Assurance Is Needed That Grant Funding Information Is Accurately Reported."