GAO Logo

Almost All Domestic Military Hospitals Offer Basic Maternity and Neonatal Care Services, with Fewer Offering More Specialized Services

GAO-16-596, June 23, 2016

In 2014, women were nearly half of the 7 million adults eligible for coverage in the Department of Defense's (DOD) Military Health System (MHS). This system provides direct health care services, such as at military hospitals located on military bases, and helps pay for care purchased from civilian hospitals and facilities. While the system as a whole provides a full range of health care services, the specific services available at each military hospital—including women's health care services—vary depending in part on hospital size. When needed health care services are not available to a patient at a military hospital, the patient is referred to either another military hospital or a civilian hospital for care. (Note: civilian hospitals are not shown on the map below.)

About 40 percent of all hospitalizations in military health care facilities were for maternity and neonatal care. As the map below illustrates, we found that almost all military hospitals offered basic maternity and neonatal care, with fewer offering care at each increasing level of specialty care.

The American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology and the Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine define the levels of maternity care:
       • Level I (basic)
       • Level II (specialty)
       • Level III (subspecialty)
       • Level IV (regional perinatal center)

The American Academy of Pediatrics defines the levels of neonatal care:
       • Level I (well newborn nursery)
       • Level II (special care nursery)
       • Level III (intensive care)
       • Level IV (regional intensive care)

Domestic Military Hospitals Offering Maternity and Neonatal Care Services, by Level of Care Reported by Each Military Service and the National Capital Region, as of July 2015

Use the filters to select both a military service and a level of maternity and neonatal care offered. Hover over hospital locations to magnify them. Then, hover on individual hospitals within the magnifying glass for hospital information, including the name, location, military service, number of beds, and highest levels of maternity and neonatal care offered.


Sources: Army, Navy, Air Force, and National Capital Region (NCR) (information); GAO (illustration) | GAO-16-596

Notes: The NCR was created by the Defense Health Agency in 2013 so that one entity, the National Capital Region Medical Directorate would have oversight over all the military treatment facilities, including two hospitals, in the Washington, DC area.

These data include Naval Hospital Lemoore, which does not have any inpatient beds.

Perinatal care refers to both maternity care, which includes care provided to the mother before birth, care provided during labor and delivery, and care provided after birth; and neonatal care, which is care provided to the newborn.

ACH: Army Community Hospital

AMC: Army Medical Center

NH: Naval Hospital

NMC: Naval Medical Center

For a printable version, download this document.