January 2012 Appointments to Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission

Each year the Comptroller General makes appointments to the Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC). MACPAC was established in The Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 for the purpose of reviewing Medicaid and CHIP access and payment policies and to advise Congress on issues affecting Medicaid and CHIP. The terms of MACPAC commissioners are staggered. The first set of appointments were made in December 2009 for terms of one, two, or three years. Commissioners may be appointed for subsequent three-year terms.

Each of the Commissioners whose first two-year term ended in December 2011 have been reappointed for a three-year term ending in December 2014. Appointees are listed below. For more information, please visit the MACPAC website, or contact Mary Giffin of GAO’s Health Care team at (202) 512-7114 or Chuck Young in GAO’s Office of Public Affairs at (202) 512-4800.

Commissioners whose current term will expire in December 2014 include:

David Sundwall, MD, Executive Director, Utah Department of Health, and Commissioner of Health, State of Utah. Dr. Sundwall will serve as vice chair of MACPAC.

Richard Chambers, Chief Executive Officer, CalOptima.

Burton Edelstein, DDS, MPH, Professor, Clinical Dentistry, College of Dental Medicine and Clinical Health Policy and Management, Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University.

Denise Henning, CNM, MSN, Service Line Leader for Women’s Health, Collier Health Services.

Judith Moore, Senior Fellow, National Health Policy Forum, George Washington University.

Robin Smith, foster and adoptive parent of special needs children covered by Medicaid.

Commissioners whose current term will expire in December 2013 include:

Sharon L. Carte, MS, Executive Director, West Virginia Children’s Health Insurance Program.

Andrea Cohen, JD, Director of Health Services, NYC Office of the Deputy Mayor for Health and Human Services.

Herman Gray, MD, MBA, President, Children’s Hospital of Michigan and Senior Vice President, Detroit Medical Center.

Norma Martinez Rogers, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor, Department of Family Nursing, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Sara Rosenbaum, JD, Chair, Department of Health Policy and Harold and Jane Hirsh Professor of Health Law and Policy, George Washington (GW) University School of Public Health and Health Services, and Professor of Health Care Sciences, GW’s School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Commissioners whose current term will expire in December 2012 include:

Diane Rowland, ScD, Executive Vice President, Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and Executive Director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. Dr. Rowland will serve as chair of MACPAC.

Donna Checkett, MPA, MSW, Senior Vice President of Medicaid Business Development, Aetna.

Patricia Gabow, MD, Chief Executive Officer, Denver Health and Hospital Authority.

Mark Hoyt, FSA, MAAA, National Practice Leader of the Government Human Services Consulting Specialty Group, Mercer, LLC.

Trish Riley, MS, Director, Maine Governor’s Office of Health Policy and Finance.

Steven Waldren, MD, MS, Director, Center for Health Information Technology, American Academy of Family Physicians.