Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government

GAO-14-704G: Published: Sep 10, 2014. Publicly Released: Sep 10, 2014.


  • GAO Interactive Graphic
    The Green Book - Infographic

Additional Materials:


James R. Dalkin
(202) 512-3133


Office of Public Affairs
(202) 512-4800

Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government (the “Green Book”), sets the standards for an effective internal control system for federal agencies and provides the overall framework for designing, implementing, and operating an effective internal control system.

An entity uses the Green Book to help achieve its objectives related to operations, reporting, and compliance.

C:\Documents and Settings\PugnettiC\Desktop\Fig_02_5_194915.TIF

The standards in the Green Book are organized by the five components of internal control shown in the cube below. Each of the five components contains several principles. Principles are the requirements of each component.

C:\Documents and Settings\PugnettiC\Desktop\Fig_05_5_194915.TIF

This publication will supersede GAO/AIMD-00-21 .3.1, Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government : November 1999.

GAO's 2014 revision will be effective beginning with fiscal year 2016 and the FMFIA reports covering that year. Management, at its discretion, may elect early adoption of the 2014 Green Book.

For more information, contact James R. Dalkin at (202) 512-3133 or

May 20, 2016

May 11, 2016

Apr 29, 2016

Apr 27, 2016

Apr 14, 2016

Apr 13, 2016

Apr 12, 2016

Apr 7, 2016

Looking for more? Browse all our products here