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What GAO Found

Federal laws regulate the employment of sex offenders at federal child care
facilities. For example, federally operated facilities are required to conduct
criminal-history checks on employees, as are facilities receiving grants from the
Department of Health and Human Services’ Head Start program. At the state
level, laws vary widely. For example, all 50 states require criminal-history checks
for owners and employees of licensed child care facilities, but many state laws
exempt facilities from licensing if they do not exceed certain thresholds, such as
a minimum number of children. Penalties for violating licensing requirements can
range from a $5 administrative fine to imprisonment for a term of years.

The cases GAO examined show examples of individuals convicted of serious
sexual offenses who gained access to child care facilities as maintenance
workers, spouses or friends of providers, a cafeteria worker, and a cook. At least
seven of these cases involve offenders who previously targeted children, and in
three of the cases, the offenders used their access to children at the facilities to
offend again. Among the cases, GAO found instances of providers who (1)
knowingly hired offenders and (2) did not perform preemployment criminal-history
checks. GAO also found examples of facilities operating without licenses, and
facilities that employed offenders while receiving federal funds. The following four
cases illustrate the nature of the situations GAO identified.

Examples of Cases GAO Examined
Location Case details

Missouri e  When investigating allegations of child abuse, state officials and police
found unsafe conditions and a maintenance worker previously convicted of
attempted child molestation working at an unlicensed facility.

e  The facility claimed to operate as a school but investigators found no
evidence to support that claim or that the owner of the facility completed a
criminal-history check on the offender. In March 2004, the provider pled
guilty to felony child endangerment and received 3 years of probation.

Kentucky e An owner of a licensed child care facility hired a cook to work in her
cafeteria in January 2008 because she wanted to help him, even though
she knew that he had been convicted for sexually abusing a woman.

e Aninvestigation by state agencies led to the suspension of the owner’s

license. She revoked her right to appeal and closed the facility.

Washington, D.C. e  This offender’s parents hired him to work as a janitor in a licensed child

care facility that received at least $1 million in federal assistance, even

though he had been convicted for attempting to sexually abuse a young

girl.

e In March 2011, after GAO referred the case to the D.C. licensing

department, the parents were told to fire their son or lose their license.

A man convicted for sexually abusing a minor was hired as a janitor in

2007 by an organization that operated multiple licensed child care

facilities.

. The organization, which received over $750,000 in federal assistance, did
not conduct a criminal history check on the offender. His employment was
eventually terminated due to downsizing.

New York .

Source: State and local agencies, GAO.

Note: The data are from records including police reports, court documents, and interviews.

United States Government Accountability Office


http://www.gao.gov/products/GAO-11-757
http://www.gao.gov/products/GAO-11-757
mailto:hillmanr@gao.gov

Contents

Letter 1
Background 4
Overview of Federal and State Laws Related to the Employment of
Sex Offenders at Child Care Facilities 5
Cases of Child Care Facilities That Employed or Provided
Residence to Sex Offenders 9
Appendix I Summary of State Laws Related to the Employment of Sex Offenders
at Child Care Facilities 21
Tables
Table 1: Types of Child Care 4
Table 2: Examples of Sex Offenders at Child care Facilities 15

This is a work of the U.S. government and is not subject to copyright protection in the
United States. The published product may be reproduced and distributed in its entirety
without further permission from GAO. However, because this work may contain
copyrighted images or other material, permission from the copyright holder may be
necessary if you wish to reproduce this material separately.

Page i GAO-11-757 Child Care Facilities



GAO

Accountability * Integrity * Reliability

United States Government Accountability Office

Washington, DC 20548

August 19, 2011

The Honorable George Miller

Ranking Member

Committee on Education and the Workforce
House of Representatives

Dear Mr. Miller:

We have previously reported on cases in which children were being
physically abused at youth residential treatment facilities and sexually
abused at public and private schools.” However, very little is known about
the extent of sexual abuse among children that are regularly cared for by
an estimated 1.3 million child care providers every week in the United
States as of 2008. The victims of these crimes are typically 12 years old
or younger—and according to the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s (FBI)
National Incident-Based Reporting System, crimes against children make
up a large majority of sexual assaults handled by law enforcement
agencies. In this context, and as a follow-on to our December 2010 report
on individuals with histories of sexual misconduct in K-12 public and
private schools, we agreed to (1) provide an overview of relevant federal
and state laws related to the employment of sex offenders at child care
facilities and (2) examine cases where individuals who were convicted of
serious sexual offenses were subsequently employed or present at child
care facilities.

To provide an overview of selected federal and state laws, we searched
statutory codes for prohibitions against sexual offenders working or being
present in child care facilities, requirements for conducting criminal-
history checks, and penalties for violating these requirements. At the state
level, we focused solely on statutory provisions because of their greater
degree of permanence. We did not analyze state regulations or policies,

'"GAO, Residential Treatment Programs: Concerns Regarding Abuse and Death in Certain
Programs for Troubled Youth, GAO-08-146T (Washington, D.C.: Oct. 10, 2007);
Residential Programs: Selected Cases of Death, Abuse, and Deceptive Marketing,
GAO-08-713T (Washington, D.C.: Apr. 24, 2008); Seclusions and Restraints: Selected
Cases of Death and Abuse at Public and Private Schools and Treatment Centers,
GAO-09-719T (Washington, D.C.: May 19, 2009); K-12 Education: Selected Cases of
Public and Private Schools That Hired or Retained Individuals with Histories of Sexual
Misconduct, GAO-11-200 (Washington, D.C.: Dec. 8, 2010).
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or any laws, regulations, or policies at the local level. Additional
requirements can be added through regulation by states or at the local
level, and these may go beyond what is specified in state statute.

To identify case-study examples of child care facilities that employed or
provided residence to registered sexual offenders who committed serious
sexual offenses, we performed searches of open-source information and
public records and used database matching techniques described in
greater detail below.? Our methodology was not designed to assess the
prevalence of sex offenders working at child care facilities; nor can it
establish the effectiveness of statutes and legislation designed to prevent
such occurrences. First, we compared social security numbers (SSN) that
we obtained from the Department of Justice’s (DOJ) National Sex
Offender Registry (NSOR) to SSNs in employment databases maintained
by 20 states and the District of Columbia for the years 2007 to 2009.
These states and the District of Columbia are not a generalizable sample,
but illustrate geographic diversity. From this comparison, we identified 24
potential cases of registered sex offenders working at child care facilities.
We identified the facilities by searching the data that we compiled through
our comparisons for employers whose business names contained terms
such as “children,” “child care,” and “daycare.” The cases we identified
focus only on individuals who were convicted of serious sexual offenses
prior to being employed at child care facilities and cannot be generalized
to all child care facilities. It is possible that our search did not capture sex
offenders whose names or social security numbers were inaccurate in
NSOR or employment data or who worked at facilities that were not
readily identifiable as child care providers, or whose employers did not
properly report the sex offender’'s employment to the state, nor would it
capture instances where a registered sex offender was merely present at
the child care facility, but was not employed.

To identify additional potential case-study examples, we searched open-
source information for reports of individuals who committed serious
sexual offenses and gained access to child care facilities. We reviewed
open sources published between the years 2000 through 2010. Open-
source information refers to publicly available information, and may
include information obtained from sources such as the media and public

2For the purposes of our report, we define serious sexual offenses as those sexual
offenses that involve children or sexual abuse.
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data. It is a key component of traditional law-enforcement, intelligence,
and other information-gathering agencies, such as the Central
Intelligence Agency. To determine whether the preliminary listing of cases
resulting from the above data matches and searches of open-source
information was sufficient, we confirmed that both of the following criteria
had been met: (1) the individual was a convicted sex offender before he
gained employment or was present at the child care facility and (2) the
individual was convicted of a serious sexual offense, to include crimes
against children or a violent sexual offense, or both.

To refine the list from which to select further cases for review, we
attempted to validate the identity of each offender and verify that he was
employed or present at a child care facility at some time during 2000
through 2010. We excluded from consideration cases where we could not
obtain records or immediately confirm the offender’s identity and
employment. Further, we interviewed related parties, law-enforcement
officials, or representatives from state agencies to validate and
investigate the facts in each case. Where applicable and available, we
reviewed police reports, and other court documents.

Ultimately, through a combination of our data matching, review of open-
source information, public records, and interviews, and by focusing on the
offenders who had been convicted of serious sexual offenses in the past,
to include violent sexual offenses and crimes involving children, we
selected 10 cases from eight states and the District of Columbia. Of these
cases, 8 were selected from open-source information while the remaining
2 were selected from our comparison of SSNs in the NSOR with SSNs in
employment databases. The 8 cases selected from open-source
information cover the years 2002 to 2010. These examples are not
representative of the hiring practices of any child care facilities beyond
those highlighted in the report.

To the extent possible, we conducted searches to determine whether the
sex offenders in our cases had previous criminal histories or were the
subject of previous allegations of abuse. In addition, although the focus of
our investigation was not to determine whether the child care facilities in
our cases received public funds, during our investigation we observed
that some of these child care facilities did in fact receive public funding. In
these cases, we obtained information from relevant federal, state, and city
agencies indicating whether the facility received federal assistance from
the Department of Health and Human Services’ (HHS) Head Start
program or its Child Care Development Fund (CCDF) while a sex
offender was employed or a resident in the home of a child care provider.
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Background

Although our 10 case studies highlight issues or processes that may have
contributed to the employment or presence of sex offenders at the child
care facilities that we included in our report, the circumstances of each
case are unique and cannot be generalized to all child care facilities.

We performed our work from April 2010 to August 2011 in accordance
with standards prescribed by the Council of the Inspectors General on
Integrity and Efficiency.

Parents who need child care services select from different types of child
care providers: in-home care, in which a child is cared for by a provider
such as an au pair or nanny in the child’s home; family child care or group
home care, in which the child is cared for in a private residence other than
the child’s home;® and center care, in which a child is cared for by
providers in a nonresidential setting, such as in a church, school, or
business. Additionally, care can be provided by someone related to the
child other than the parents, such as grandparents, aunts, uncles, or
siblings, which is referred to as relative care. See table 1.

_______________________________________________________________________________________|]
Table 1: Types of Child Care

Type Description
In-home care Care provided in the child’'s home
Relative care Care provided by someone related to the child other than the

parents in any setting, typically in the child’s or relative’s home

Family child care  An individual provider who provides child care services as the sole
caregiver in a private residence other than the child’s home

Group home care  Two or more providers who provide child care services in a private
residence other than the child’s home (this does not include 24-hour
residential facilities)

Child care centers Nonresidential facilities that provide care for children and include
full-and part-time group programs, such as nursery and preschool
programs. Child care centers can be commercial, work-site based,
school-based (preschool or after school), or a recreational program
(such as camps or parks), and care can also be run by a religious
organizations or by federal, state, or local governments

Source: GAO.

3 Typically, family child care consists of one provider caring for six or fewer children.
Group home care usually involves two providers caring for 7 to 12 children.
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Overview of Federal
and State Laws
Related to the
Employment of Sex
Offenders at Child
Care Facilities

In general, states and localities are responsible for regulating child care
providers and carry out this responsibility by (1) establishing specific
requirements that regulated child care providers must comply with in
order to legally operate; and (2) enforcing these requirements through
activities conducted by state licensing offices. The stringency of the
requirements with which providers must comply and the scope and
intensity of state enforcement activities differ among the provider types
within states as well as among states overall. Many states do not regulate
a significant number of providers. This is because, given the competing
priorities for limited funds as well as other factors, states must make
choices about the extent to which they can conduct enforcement activities
and the types of providers to which these activities will apply. State
policies regarding child care regulation are also influenced by the supply
of child care and its cost to parents. Research has shown that some types
of child care regulation may increase the cost of doing business for
providers, particularly for small providers like family and group homes.

Federal laws regulate the employment of sex offenders at federal child
care facilities, and widely divergent laws govern state child care facilities,
especially with regard to licensing requirements and penalties. We did not
analyze state regulations or policies, nor any laws, regulations, or policies
at the local level.* In addition, the scope of this review did not include a
review of whether these laws were effectively enforced. For a summary of
laws related to the employment of sex offenders at child care facilities in
all 50 states, see appendix I.

Federal Laws. The National Child Protection Law of 1993 requires the
Department of Justice to conduct a criminal-history check at the request
of child care facilities or other youth-serving organizations.® This check
allows for a fingerprint-based criminal-history search of the FBI's National
Crime Information Center database. However, federal law does not

4State regulations may be more specific than statutes regarding such things as the type of
providers that must complete criminal background checks, and the type of checks that
must be conducted. For recent studies looking at current state regulations regarding
criminal-history checks, see the National Association for Child Care Resource and
Referral Agencies’ (NACCRRA) report We Can Do Better, 2011 and the National
Association of Regulatory Administration’s 2008 Child Care Licensing Study.

542 U.S.C. § 5119a.
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require child care facilities to use this service unless the facility is
federally owned or operated (or operated under a federal contract).®

Other laws governing the employment of sex offenders relate to facilities
that receive federal grants. For example, Head Start grantees must either
conduct a state or national criminal record check before hiring any
employee, depending on state law requirements.” Grantees are
prohibited from permanently hiring an individual until these checks have
been performed, although they may conditionally hire an individual if it is
not feasible to perform a preemployment check. Employees are also
required to sign a declaration to all pending and prior criminal arrests and
charges related to child sexual abuse and their disposition, along with any
convictions related to other forms of child abuse and neglect and
convictions of violent felonies. Grantees are then required to determine
whether the individual is fit for employment based upon his or her criminal
charge or conviction. In addition to requirements for Head Start grantees,
CCDF requires that states certify to the federal government that they
have requirements in effect to protect the health and safety of children in
child care facilities who are subsidized with these funds. However, the
block grant does not dictate to states the specificity, stringency, or
number of requirements they must have or the manner in which they
should enforce them.®

Prohibitions on Working in or Being Present at Child Care Facilities.
A majority of states have enacted laws to restrict sex offenders from
having access to child care facilities. Fifteen states impose broad
statutory restrictions that prohibit registered sex offenders from entering
or being a specified distance from childcare facilities.® Twenty-two states
and the District of Columbia have enacted statutes prohibiting sex
offenders from serving as an owner, operator, employee, or volunteer at a

642 U.S.C. §13041.
745 C.F.R. § 1301.31.
845 C.F.R. § 98.41.

%Idaho, lllinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota,
Nevada, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, and Utah.
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child care facility.'® Nine additional states more narrowly impose such a
prohibition on offenders whose victims were minors."" Four states also

specifically prohibit sex offenders from residing at a facility that provides
child care services.'?

Criminal-History Check Requirements. Although it is not always clear
whether criminal-history checks need to be completed prior to
employment, all 50 states require such checks for owners and employees
of licensed child care facilities. However, the requirements for licensing
vary widely. Only 3 states appear to require criminal-history checks for all
licensed and unlicensed child care facilities,'® while 11 states require that
all facilities that receive state or federal funds perform these checks.' In
addition, 23 states require criminal-history checks for adult residents at
licensed child care or group home facilities.'® Fourteen states and the
District of Columbia specifically require checks for volunteers at licensed
childcare facilities, '® and six states specifically require criminal-history
checks for contractors."” Finally, several states exempt child care facilities
associated with schools or religious organizations from the licensing or
criminal-history check requirements.

0Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, lllinois,
Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, New Jersey, New York,
North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota,
and Virginia.

11Alaska, California, Delaware, Florida, lowa, Tennessee, Washington, West Virginia, and
Wisconsin.

12Colorado, Georgia, Kansas, and South Dakota.
13California, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

14Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, lowa, Maine, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Carolina,
Utah, Vermont, and Virginia.

15Alaska, California, Colorado, Georgia, Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts,
Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, South Carolina. South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

16Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Indiana, Kansas, Maine,
Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and Virginia. In
addition, Idaho and Massachusetts both require criminal-history checks for anyone with
unsupervised access to children in child care facilities, which could include volunteers.

17Alaska, Arkansas, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, and Wisconsin. In addition, Idaho
and Massachusetts both require criminal-history checks for anyone with unsupervised
access to children in child care facilities, which could include contractors.
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Method for Conducting Criminal-History Checks. The vast majority of
states require that criminal-history checks for employees and other staff
be fingerprint-based and be conducted in both national and state
databases, but many do not specify that the checks must be completed
prior to an employee’s start date. In four states, statutes require criminal-
history checks, but they do not specify the use of either national or state
databases.'® In addition, five states limit the check to state databases,®
while four states require national database checks only if the employee or
applicant has not been a resident of the state for a specified period of
time.2° Four states require by statute that criminal-history checks be
performed at specified intervals.?!

Penalties for violations. All 50 states provide some type of penalty for
violating requirements related to the employment of sex offenders, but
these penalties vary widely. For example, 34 states and the District of
Columbia attach criminal penalties to licensing requirement violations,
failure of an owner or employee to disclose criminal-history information, or
failure to perform criminal-history checks.?? In 29 states, violation of
licensing requirements and failure to perform criminal-history checks may

18Kentucky, Massachusetts, Oklahoma, and Vermont.
19Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Virginia, and Wyoming.
20Arkansas, Colorado, Montana, and Washington.
21Arkansas, Ohio, Oregon, and Wisconsin.

22Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of
Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, lllinois, Indiana, lowa, Louisiana, Maryland,
Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York,
North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South
Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin. In three additional states
(Montana, West Virginia, and Wyoming), licensing violations may result in license
suspension, and criminal penalties attach to continued operation after suspension.
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Cases of Child Care
Facilities That
Employed or
Provided Residence
to Sex Offenders

result in civil penalties or fines,?? ranging from $5 per violation?* to
$10,000 per violation.?

We did not assess the prevalence of sex offenders working or residing at
child care facilities; our 10 cases do provide examples of sex offenders
who gained access to such facilities as maintenance workers, spouses or
friends of providers, a cafeteria worker, and a carpenter. Seven of these
cases involve offenders who previously targeted children, and in at least 3
of the cases, the offenders used their access to children at the child care
facility to offend again. As discussed below, we identified instances of
relatives and acquaintances who knowingly hired offenders to work at
child care facilities and facilities that unknowingly hired offenders because
they did not perform preemployment criminal-history checks. Our
investigation also found instances where child care facilities employing
sex offenders operated without licenses or received federal funds.

Relatives or Acquaintances Knowingly Provided Sex Offenders
Access to Child Care Facilities. In at least 7 of our 10 cases, sex
offenders were hired or allowed to reside at both licensed and unlicensed
facilities by relatives or acquaintances who were aware of the offenders’
previous offenses. As shown in the cases, the regulatory consequences
for allowing a sex offender to have access to a child care facility differ
widely, ranging from, for example, no action being taken to suspension of
a child care license to a misdemeanor charge for providing child care
services in a home where a sex offender resides. Examples from our
case studies include the following:

« Operators of a licensed child care facility in the District of Columbia
hired their son in April 2008 as an after-hours janitor even though he
had been convicted for attempting to sexually abuse a very young girl.
The terms of the offender’s parole and District of Columbia law

23Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Indiana,
Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska,
Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon,
Pennsylvania, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin. In Vermont, licensing violations
may result in license suspension, and civil penalties attach to continued operation after
suspension.

24North Dakota.

25Mississippi.
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prohibited him from being employed at a child care facility. After
interviewing the child care provider, we confirmed that the offender
was working at the facility in November 2010. The offender’s father
told us that employing his son to work at the child care facility was not
a cause for concern, even though he was a convicted sex offender; he
also stated that his son’s employment was approved by his probation
officer and that he only worked after the school was closed. We
referred the case to the Metropolitan Police Department, Sex Offender
Registry Unit, who told us that they could not take action against the
offender because he was no longer under court supervision and the
restrictions of his parole no longer applied. We then referred the
matter to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education, the
office responsible for licensing child care facilities in the District of
Columbia. In March 2011, the office required the owners to certify that
they had terminated their son’s employment and notify him that he
was prohibited from visiting the child care facility, in order to maintain
their license. As of March 21, 2011, the office was still investigating
the matter.

« An lllinois woman allowed her husband to reside at her unlicensed
home-based child care facility even though he had prior convictions
for sexual assault and abuse. In lllinois, sex offenders are not allowed
to be present at any child care facility. Over a 6-year period, the
offender sexually molested one of the children under his wife’s care.
He was sentenced to life in prison and is currently incarcerated.
Prosecutors told us that they could not gather enough evidence to
prosecute the wife.

« A Kentucky owner of a licensed child care facility hired a cafeteria
worker even though she knew that he had been convicted of sexual
abuse in the first degree, because she wanted to help him. Kentucky
prohibits child care facilities from hiring sex offenders for any position
involving direct contact with minors. A series of anonymous tips led to
an investigation of the child care facility, which resulted in a
suspension of her license and an order to cease operations. She
revoked her right to appeal the suspension.

« A woman in North Carolina allowed her husband and his son, both of
whom were convicted for taking indecent liberties with a minor, to
reside in a house where she was providing child care. North Carolina
prohibits sex offenders from being present at child care facilities. In
February 2010, the mother of two of the children who attended the
child care facility reported that one of the children had witnessed the
husband sexually abusing her sibling. The husband was convicted on
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felony charges of being an offender in a home where child care is
provided and indecent liberties with a child and sentenced to 19 to 23
months in prison with 5 years probation. The offender’s son was never
charged. Police arrested the offender’s wife for the misdemeanor
offense of offering child care services in a home where a sex offender
resides; her trial was scheduled to begin in September 2011. We
could not obtain information regarding the present operation of the
child care facility.

Child Care Facilities Not Performing Preemployment Criminal-
History Checks. At least two cases show examples in which licensed
child care facilities unknowingly hired employees who were sex offenders
because they did not conduct required criminal-history checks. The
documents we reviewed and the officials we spoke with indicated that the
child care facilities did not perform these checks because of poor
oversight and an unclear understanding of background check
requirements.

e InJune 2007, an offender who was convicted for sexually abusing a
minor gained employment as a substitute custodian at three child care
facilities in New York City. The City of New York requires criminal-
history checks on employees of licensed child care facilities; and
according to the Director of the child care facility, employees are not
authorized to begin working until after the employer receives the
results of these checks. However, the offender was not scheduled to
have his fingerprints checked for more than 9 months after he began
working. He was subsequently terminated as a result of downsizing.
The organization only learned of the offender’s criminal past through
our investigation. The Director of the facility also told us that it was
likely that the organization failed in its oversight role because he was
hired when the organization was in flux. The child care facility is now
owned and operated by a different organization.

« A South Carolina child care facility hired an offender in September
2009 who was convicted of committing sexual battery. The person
was hired to provide maintenance and repair services at six different
child care facilities. South Carolina requires licensed facilities to
perform fingerprint-based state and national criminal-history checks
on all employees. The owners said they did not perform a criminal-
history check on the offender in this case because he was a self-
employed contractor and not an employee of the child care facility. In
December 2009, the human resource director at the child care facility
reported the offender’s employment to law enforcement and child
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protective services. We could not obtain information regarding the
present operation of the child care facility.

Some Facilities Operated without Required Licenses. At least 3 of our
10 cases involve child care facilities that allegedly cared for more children
than legally allowed without a license or did not operate as permitted by
the state. States and localities are responsible for regulating child care
providers by establishing specific requirements they must meet and
enforcing those requirements. Many states set thresholds at which
regulation begins according to the number of children served by different
types of providers and exempt from regulation those providers falling
below these thresholds. For example, in a given state, providers caring
for seven or more children in their home might be regulated, while
providers caring for four children in their home might be exempted from
regulation.?® Licensed providers are generally subject to standard
oversight, which includes background checks, inspections, technical
assistance and training, and the application of sanctions when providers
are found to be out of compliance. Unlicensed providers may be subject
to less intense scrutiny or none at all. However, the requirements for
licensing vary widely. If enforced, penalties for violating licensing
requirements also vary widely, ranging from a $5 administrative fine to
imprisonment for a term of years. Examples from our case studies include
the following:

« A Missouri child care facility providing care for 31 children employed
as a maintenance man a person convicted of attempted child
molestation. He had been working at the facility for approximately 2
years when he was discovered in January 2003. In Missouiri,
fingerprint-based national and state criminal-history checks are
required for all employees of licensed child care facilities—those with
5 or more children. However, Missouri exempts from regulation child
care facilities that are affiliated with a school system. The child care
facility received an exemption from state regulation after it claimed to
be a school; however, during the state’s investigation, it found no
evidence to support this claim. The facility was eventually condemned
after state officials and police conducted investigations into allegations
of child abuse and found unsafe conditions. Subsequently, the
offender pled guilty to two misdemeanor counts of child
endangerment. The child care provider pled guilty to 31 counts of

26GAO/HEHS-00-28.
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felony child endangerment and received 3 years of probation. The
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services told us that as of
November 2010 the child care facility was no longer in operation.

« Another Missouri offender convicted for having sexual intercourse with
a minor subsequently resided in the trailer where his girlfriend
provided child care services when he was arrested by police during a
domestic dispute. The offender pled guilty to assaulting his girlfriend,
receiving a 1-year suspended sentence with 2 years of probation. An
August 2004 report by the offender’s probation officer indicated that
he was compliant with sex-offender registration requirements;
however, he continued to reside at the same home with his girlfriend
while he was on probation and she continued to provide child care
services. The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services told
us that as of November 2010 the child care facility was no longer in
operation.

« An Arizona offender convicted of indecent exposure to a minor was
operating an unlicensed facility with his wife in October 2005. The
child care facility provided services for more than 15 children,
although Arizona required a license for any facility with 5 or more
children. Police discovered the offender operating the child care
facility after a parent alleged that he abused her child. The offender
fled the state, but was eventually apprehended. He subsequently pled
guilty to sexual exploitation of a minor and dangerous crimes against
children in the first degree and was sentenced to 13 years’
imprisonment. According to the prosecutor, his wife has not been
charged. We could not obtain information regarding the present
operation of the child care facility.

Several Child Care Providers Received Federal Funds. At least four of
the child care facilities—two licensed and two unlicensed—received
federal funds from HHS’s Head Start program or its Child Care
Development Fund (CCDF). In all four cases, we attempted to determine
the amount of funds received during the time that a sex offender was
employed or resided at the child care facility, although we can not be
certain when offenders began living or working at some facilities because
the operators did not keep comprehensive records. The Head Start
program delivers comprehensive educational, social, health, nutritional,
and psychological services to low-income families and their children who
are below the age of compulsory school attendance. These services
include preschool education, family support, health screenings, and
dental care. The Office of Head Start makes grants directly to
approximately 1,600 local organizations, including community-action
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agencies, school systems, tribal governments and associations, and for-
profit and nonprofit organizations.?” Administered by HHS as a block
grant to the states, CCDF subsidizes child care for low-income children
under age 13 whose parents work or attend educational or job-training
programs.?® In September 2010, we reported that criminals could obtain
CCDF subsidies to provide child care because at least five states did not
conduct criminal-history checks, verify SSNs, or compare provider
information to sex-offender registries.?® In our current investigation, we
notified the Administration for Children and Families (ACF) at HHS of the
four cases where sex offenders worked or resided at child care facilities
that received federal funds. Details regarding our four cases follow.

In one case, owners of the licensed Washington, D.C., child care facility
that hired their son, an offender convicted for attempting to sexually
abuse a child, to work as a janitor, received at least $1 million in
assistance from the Head Start program between April 2008 and
December 2010. Head Start requires that grantees conduct a state or
national criminal-history check on prospective employees, depending on
state law. The District of Columbia requires both state and national
checks for all owners, volunteers, and employees of licensed child care
facilities with 6 or more children. ACF has informed us that this facility’s
Head Start contract has been terminated. In the three remaining cases,
two in Missouri and one in New York, child care facilities received funds
from CCDF. In New York, a licensed facility hired a custodian in 2007
who was convicted for sexually abusing a minor and the facility received
nearly $750,000 in financial assistance from CCDF between July 2007
and June 2008. In one Missouri case, a man convicted for attempted child
molestation worked at a child care facility that received nearly $250,000 in
federal assistance from the CCDF between 2001 and 2003. In the other,
an offender convicted for sexually assaulting a minor resided in his
girlfriend’s unlicensed, home-based day care, which received more than

2"In fiscal year 2010, Congress appropriated approximately $7.2 billion as well as
approximately $2.1 billion in funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act to
serve low-income families and children that participate in this program.

28The CCDF received approximately $7 billion in fiscal year 2009, including approximately
$2 billion from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, primarily to help
eligible low-income families pay for child care.

2°GAO, Child Care and Development Fund: Undercover Tests Show Five State Programs
Are Vulnerable to Fraud and Abuse, GAO-10-1062 (Washington, D.C.: Sept. 22, 2010).
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$4,200 in federal assistance from CCDF between 2001 and 2002.
Although Missouri is 1 of 11 states that requires facilities that receive
state or federal funds to perform criminal-history checks,*° there are no

federal requirements for CCDF grantees to conduct these checks.

Table 2 provides a summary of the 10 cases we examined.

|
Table 2: Examples of Sex Offenders at Child Care Facilities

Location, licensing status of child care
facility and number of children, and

Case offender occupation Case details
1 « Washington, D.C. « In March 2000, the offender was convicted for attempting to sexually abuse an
«  Licensed child care facility, 160 8-year-old child.
children « In April 2008, the offender’s parents hired him to work as an after-hours janitor
. Janitor in their licensed child care facility. In December 2010, the offender’s father

told us that the offender’s employment at the facility was approved by his
probation officer. But according to the Court Services and Offender
Supervision Agency for the District of Columbia, the offender was never
authorized to work at or visit his parents’ child care facility.

« Between April 2008 and December 2010, this child care facility has received
at least $1 million dollars in assistance from the Head Start program. ACF has
informed us that this facility’s Head Start contract has been terminated.

« We referred the case to the D.C. office responsible for licensing child care
facilities, which required the owners to certify that they had terminated the
employment of their son and notified him that he was prohibited from being at
the facility, in order to maintain their license. In March 2011, the child care
facility certified that the offender’'s employment was terminated and the facility
remained open.

2 « New York « In 1997, this offender was convicted for sexually abusing a minor. He was
. Three licensed child care facilities sentenced to a year in prison and required to register as a sex offender for
operated by the same board of life.
volunteers, number of children « The offender was hired in June 2007. Although the state of New York requires
unknown criminal-history checks on employees of licensed child care facilities, the
. Custodian offender’s fingerprints were not scheduled to be checked until more than 9

months after he began working.

« The offender’s employment was subsequently terminated in March 2008 as a
result of downsizing. The organization only learned of his criminal past
through our investigation.

«  During the approximate time the offender was employed, these facilities
received nearly $750,000 in financial assistance from CCDF.?

30These 11 states are Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, lowa, Maine, Missouri, New
Hampshire, North Carolina, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia.
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Case

Location, licensing status of child care

facility and number of children, and
offender occupation

Case details

Missouri

Unlicensed child care facility , 31
children

Maintenance worker

In 1996, this offender was convicted of attempted child molestation.

In January 2003, state officials responded to a claim of abuse at two
unlicensed child care facilities operated by the same owner and discovered
the offender.

The child care facility was exempt from state inspections because it claimed to
be a school; however, during the state’s investigation, it found no evidence to
support this claim. It also found that the facility’s owner did not have
employment records or completed criminal-history checks on the offender or
any of its employees.

In March 2004, the offender pled guilty to two misdemeanor counts of child
endangerment, because he worked at a child care facility that did not provide
sanitary and safe conditions for the children. The child care facility owner pled
guilty to 31 counts of felony child endangerment, received 3 years of
probation, and was forbidden from working in a child care setting for 6
months.

Between 2001 and 2003, the child care facility received almost $250,000 in
federal assistance from the CCDF.?

In Missouri, individuals receiving federal or state funds for child care are
required to submit to criminal-history checks. As of November 2010, the child
care facility was no longer in operation.

Arizona

Unlicensed home-based child care
facility, more than 15 children

Operator and resident

In 1988, the offender was convicted in Arizona of indecent exposure to a
minor under the age of 15.

In October 2005, police discovered the offender operating a child care facility
with his wife after a parent alleged that the offender sexually abused her child.

The offender subsequently pled guilty to sexual exploitation of a minor and
dangerous crimes against children. According to the prosecutor, the wife was
not charged. We could not obtain information regarding the present operation
of the child care facility.

South Carolina

Six licensed child care facilities
operated by the same owners, 650
children

Maintenance worker

In 2004, the offender was sentenced for committing sexual battery against a
woman in South Carolina in 1999.

The offender began work in September 2009. South Carolina law requires
licensed facilities to perform fingerprint-based state and national criminal-
history checks on all employees, but not independent contractors. However,
state regulations prohibit child care facilities from engaging the services of or
allowing access during normal operating hours to anyone convicted of a
violent offense or required to register as a sex offender.

The owners of the child care facility stated that they did not perform criminal-
history checks on the offender before hiring him because he was a self-
employed contractor and not an employee of the child care facility. In
December 2009, the human resource director at the child care facility reported
the offender’'s employment to law enforcement and child protective services.
We could not obtain information regarding the present operation of the child
care facility.
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Case

Location, licensing status of child care
facility and number of children, and
offender occupation

Case details

Kentucky

Licensed child care facility, maximum
of 122 children

Cook

In 1995, this offender was convicted of sexual abuse in the first degree.

In February 2008, shortly after the offender began working at the child care
facility, a series of anonymous tips about safety and health led to an
investigation by multiple state agencies responsible for regulating child care
facilities.

When investigators asked about the offender’'s employment, the owner
acknowledged that she knew of his past and wanted to help him; she also
stated that she was not aware that his offense would prevent him from
working at the facility.

In addition to the hiring of a sex offender, the investigation uncovered
numerous regulatory violations, including staff working with children without
the required background checks and a failure to properly report allegations of
abuse and neglect of children. As a result, the owner’s license was suspended
and she was directed to cease operation of the facility.

In February 2008, she revoked her right to appeal the suspension of the
license and closed the child care facility.

Missouri

Unlicensed, home-based child care
facility, at least four children

Boyfriend of child care operator and
resident

In 1995, this offender was convicted for having sex with a minor.

In May 2001, the Missouri Department of Health received an anonymous tip
that the offender’s girlfriend was caring for too many children in her home
without a license.

Missouri requires a license for five or more children. However, the department
concluded these allegations were unsubstantiated after the child care owner
sent documents listing the names of children under her care. The department
did not investigate the offender’s presence at the child care facility.

In October 2002, the police discovered the offender residing in the home
where his girlfriend provided child care services, when they arrested him for
domestic violence.

The offender pled guilty in February 2003 for assaulting his girlfriend,
receiving a 1 year suspended sentence and 2 years of probation.

An August 2004 report by the offender’s probation officer indicates that while
he remained compliant with sex-offender registration requirements and had no
further violations, he still resided with his girlfriend while she continued to
operate the child care. The probation officer told us that she stopped
supervising the sex offender in February 2005. The Missouri Department of
Health and Senior Services told us that as of November 2010 the child care
facility was not in operation.

While the offender resided in the home, the child care provider received more
than $4,200 in federal assistance from CCDF between November 2001 and
November 2002. In Missouri, individuals receiving federal or state funds for
child care and residents of their homes are supposed to submit to criminal-
history checks. However, the provider did not report that the offender lived in
her residential child care facility.
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Case

Location, licensing status of child care

facility and number of children, and
offender occupation

Case details

lllinois

Unlicensed home-based child care
facility, between two and six children

Spouse of child care operator and
resident

The offender had convictions for sexually assaulting and abusing children in
1987 and 1995.

Public records indicate that the offender began living in the child care facility
as early as December 1999. Over a 6-year period, the offender sexually
molested one of the children under his wife’s care.

A representative from the office of the prosecutor involved in the case told us
that there were between two and six children present at the facility. Currently
in lllinois, homes that provide care for more than 1 child are required to obtain
a license. According to the prosecutor’s office, the wife never registered or
obtained a license for the child care because of her husband’s prior
convictions for sexual offenses.

In 2009, the offender was sentenced to life in prison for predatory criminal
sexual assault and is currently incarcerated. Although the wife knew about her
husband’s prior convictions and the abuse he committed against the victim,
prosecutors told us that it wasn’t clear whether they would have enough
evidence to prosecute her successfully. We could not obtain information
regarding the present operation of the child care facility.

North Carolina

Unlicensed home-based child care,
at least three children

Spouse of child care operator and
resident

In 1999, an offender was convicted of taking indecent liberties with a child. His
son was also convicted for the same crime with the same victim.

In North Carolina, sex offenders may not be present at child care facilities,
and any facility servicing three or more children requires a license. In 2010,
both father and son were living in the house where the father’'s wife was
providing child care to children, including two girls, ages five and six and
another child.

In February 2010, the mother of the two children reported to police that the 6-
year had witnessed the elder offender fondle the 5-year-old. In March 2011,
the offender was convicted on felony charges of being an offender in a home
where child care was provided and indecent liberties with a child and
sentenced to 19 to 23 months in prison with 5 years probation. The offender’s
son was never charged with a crime for being present at the day care.

In early March 2010, police also arrested the offender’s wife for the
misdemeanor offense of offering child care services in the home where a sex
offender resides. Her trial is scheduled for September 2011. We could not
obtain information regarding the present operation of the child care facility.
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Case offender occupation

Location, licensing status of child care
facility and number of children, and

Case details

10

Arkansas

« This offender had convictions for rape, attempted murder, and battery.

Licensed day care, unknown number « In Arkansas, registered sex offenders may not operate or serve as a

of children
Carpentry work

contractor or employee of a child care facility.

« InMarch 2010, police responded to a tip that the offender was doing carpentry
work in a child care facility owned by his niece. He told the police that he was
not aware that he could not be employed at the facility and claimed that he
only worked on nights and weekends when children were not present.
Statements from other employees alleged that he was present at the facility
during its hours of operation and on occasions handed out snacks to children.

« He was arrested a week after police responded to the tip, and served nearly 6
months in jail before he received a suspended sentence of 36 months for
failure to comply with sex-offender registry requirements.

« The niece was arrested on charges of endangering the welfare of a minor.
However, county officials told us they could not prove that the offender was
present during the facility’s hours of operation and dropped the charge. The
niece eventually pled to a misdemeanor charge of obstructing governmental
operations. We do not know if the facility is still in operation; however, the
niece registered another organization with a different name at the same
address as the child care facility.

Source: State and local agencies, GAO.
Note: The data are from records including police documents, court documents, and interviews.

®The figure provided is shown to approximate the amount of funds received by the child care facility
during the period of time that the offender was employed. The offender was employed by the facility
between June 2007 and March 2008, however, the fiscal year for the New York City Administration

for Children’s Services, the agency responsible for funding the child care facility, begins in July and

ends in June. Thus, the funding period for the facility includes about 3 months in which the offender
was no longer employed.

® The offender was employed at the facility during calendar years 2001 to 2003; however, because
we do not know his exact dates of hire, the funding period may represent some time in which the
offender was not employed.

As we agreed with your office, unless you publicly announce the contents
of this report earlier, we plan no further distribution of it until 30 days from
the date of this report. At that time, we will send copies of this report to
appropriate congressional committees, the Department of Health and
Human Services, the Department of Education, and the Department of
Justice. This report will also be available at no charge on GAO’s Web site
at http://www.gao.gov. If you or your staff have any questions about this
report or need additional information, please contact me at (202) 512-
6722 or hillmanr@gao.gov.
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Contact points for our Offices of Congressional Relations and Public
Affairs can be found on the last page of this report.

Sincerely yours,

N =\ |

Richard Hillman
Managing Director
Forensic Audits and Investigative Service
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Appendix I: Summary of State Laws Related
to the Employment of Sex Offenders at Child
Care Facilities

Prohibitions on sex offenders

working in or being present in child

Criminal-history check
requirements for child care

Civil and criminal penalties for

State care facilities facilities violations of licensing requirements

AL Convicted sex offenders may not be Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements,
employed within 2,000 feet of a child  criminal-history checks are required of including failing to report criminal-history
care facility. all employment applicants, information, is a misdemeanor.

employees, and volunteers of
licensed child care facilities (1 or
more children).

AK Convicted sex offenders with child Fingerprint-based national and state  Intentional or criminally negligent violation
victims may not operate a licensed criminal-history checks are required of of the licensing requirements related to
child care facility. all owners, employees, contractors, health or safety is a misdemeanor.

unsupervised volunteers, and other
persons present on the premises of
licensed child care facilities (5 or
more children).

AZ Registered sex offenders may not Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements is a
volunteer or be employed at a licensed criminal-history checks are required of misdemeanor and may also result in civil
child care center. all employees and volunteers of penalties of up to $100 per violation per

licensed child care facilities (5 or day.
more children).

AR Registered sex offenders may not State fingerprint-based criminal- Violation of the licensing requirements,
operate or serve as a contractor or history checks are required of all including failure to perform criminal-
employee of a child care center. operators, employees, contractors, history checks, may result in civil

and employment applicants of penalties of up to $100 per violation per
licensed child care facilities (6 or day.

more children or one that accepts

state or federal funds). National

checks are required if the individual

has not been a state resident during

the last 5 years. Periodic checks are

required every 5 years.

CA Registered sex offenders with child Fingerprint-based national and state ~ Willful or repeated violation of the
victims may not be an employer, criminal-history checks are required of licensing requirements is a misdemeanor.
employee, contractor, or volunteer that all operators, employees, volunteers, Failure to perform criminal-history checks
involves working with children. and adult residents of child care may result in civil penalties of up to $500

facilities. Abuse-registry checks are (or $3,000 for repeated offenses).
also required of all operators.
CcoO Convicted sex offenders may not Abuse-registry and fingerprint-based  Violation of the licensing requirements is a

operate or be employed or reside at a
licensed child care facility.

state criminal-history checks are
required of all owners, employees,
and other adult residents of licensed
child care facilities (5 or more
children) and those accepting state
funds. National checks are required if
the individual has not been a state
resident during the last 2 years.

misdemeanor and may also result in civil
penalties of up to $100 per day.
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Appendix I: Summary of State Laws Related to
the Employment of Sex Offenders at Child
Care Facilities

Prohibitions on sex offenders
working in or being present in child

Criminal-history check
requirements for child care

Civil and criminal penalties for

State care facilities facilities violations of licensing requirements
CT None located. Abuse-registry and national and state Violation of the licensing requirements,
criminal-history checks are required of including failure to report criminal-history
all prospective employees (who will information, may result in civil penalties of
care for children) of licensed day care up to $100 per day. Failure to report
centers (13 or more children), group  criminal convictions to a day care center
day care homes (7 to 12 children by an employee or prospective employee
cared for in a residence), and family  is a misdemeanor.
day care homes (1 to 6 children cared
for in a residence).

DE Convicted sex offenders with child National and state criminal-history Failure by a child care center to perform a
victims are prohibited from being checks are required of all prospective criminal-history check of an employee is a
employed in a position having direct employees (with regular, direct misdemeanor. Failure by a prospective
access to children. access to children) of licensed child employee to report accurate sex-offense

care centers (1 or more children) and history is a felony.
child care facilities receiving federal
funds.

DC Convicted sex offenders may not be Abuse-registry and fingerprint-based  Failure by a prospective employee or
employed at a licensed day care national and state criminal-history volunteer to report criminal-history
center. checks are required of all owners, information is punishable by fines of up to

volunteers, and employees of $1,000 or imprisonment of up to 180 days,
licensed child care centers (6 or more or both.
children).

FL Sex offenders on supervised release  Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements
whose victims were minors may not criminal-history checks are required of may result in fines of up to $100 per
work or volunteer at any child care all prospective employees of licensed violation per day ($500 for violations that
facility. child care centers (6 or more children) could cause serious harm).

or family day care homes (children Misrepresentation associated with an
from more than one family cared for in employment or licensing application is a
a residence). misdemeanor.

GA Registered sex offenders may not be  Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements is a
employed by or reside at any child criminal-history checks are required of misdemeanor and may also result in civil
care facility. all owners and employees (and adult penalties of up to $500 per day.

residents present when children are
present) of licensed day care centers
(19 or more children), group day care
homes (7-18 children), or family day
care homes (3-6 children cared for in
a residence).
HI None located. Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements

criminal-history and abuse registry
checks are required of all operators
and employees of licensed child care
facilities (generally 3 or more
children).

may result in civil penalties of up to
$1,000 for the first violation and up to
$3,000 for subsequent violations.
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Appendix I: Summary of State Laws Related to
the Employment of Sex Offenders at Child
Care Facilities

Prohibitions on sex offenders
working in or being present in child

Criminal-history check
requirements for child care

Civil and criminal penalties for

State care facilities facilities violations of licensing requirements

ID Registered sex offenders may not be  National and state criminal-history Failure to perform the criminal-history
employed by or be present at any day checks are required of all operators,  checks is a misdemeanor.
care center. employees, and other persons with

unsupervised direct contact with
children at child care facilities with 4
or more children.

IL Registered sex offenders may not Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements is a
operate, be employed by, volunteer, or criminal-history checks are required of misdemeanor.
be present at any day care center. all owners and employees of licensed

child care facilities (1 or more
children).

IN Convicted sex offenders may not be National and state criminal-history Violation of the licensing requirements is a
employed or volunteer at child care checks are required of all employees, misdemeanor and may also result in civil
facilities. volunteers, and adult residents of penalties of up to $1,000.

licensed child care facilities (1 or
more children).

1A Registered sex offenders whose Fingerprint-based national and state  Failure to perform criminal-history checks
victims were minors may not be criminal-history and abuse-registry is a misdemeanor.
employed by, volunteer at, or serve as checks are required of all operators
a contractor for a child care facility. and employees (with direct

responsibility or access to children)
and residents of licensed child care
facilities (7 or more children) and
individuals who accept public funds
for child care.

KS Convicted violent or sexual offenders  Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements
may not reside, work, or volunteer at a criminal-history checks are required of that significantly and adversely affect the
child care facility. all employees, volunteers, and health or safety of children may result in

residents of licensed child care civil penalties of up to $500 per day.
facilities (1 or more children).

KY Registered sex offenders may not Criminal-history checks are required  Violation of the licensing requirements
enter a licensed child care facility of all employees of licensed child care may result in fines of up to $500.
without advance permission of the facilities (7 or more children) or family Violations involving allowing violent and
director. Child care centers may not child care homes (4 to 6 children). sexual offenders to have contact with
hire sex offenders for any position children may result in fines between $500
involving direct contact with a minor. and $1,000.

LA Persons convicted of sexual offenses  Licensed child care facilities (7 or Failure by an owner, operator, employee,

against victims under 13 may not be
present within 1,000 feet of a day care
center without permission. Registered
sex offenders may not operate, own,
or participate in the governance of a
child care facility.

more children) must arrange to have
criminal background checks on any
employees given supervisory or
disciplinary authority over children.
Abuse-registry checks are required of
all owners, operators, employees, and
volunteers of licensed child care
facilities.

or volunteer to report abuse history is a
misdemeanor.
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Appendix I: Summary of State Laws Related to
the Employment of Sex Offenders at Child
Care Facilities

Prohibitions on sex offenders
working in or being present in child

Criminal-history check
requirements for child care

Civil and criminal penalties for

State care facilities facilities violations of licensing requirements

ME Convicted sex offenders whose victims State criminal-history and child- Violation of children’s rights, including
were under 14 may not initiate contact protection checks are required of all abuse, may result in financial penalties of
with a child under 14 at a child care employees, owners, and volunteers of up to $50 per incident. Providing false
facility. licensed child care centers (3 or more information in the licensure process may

children), as well as persons who result in financial penalties of up to $500
provide for care for children in their per incident.

home and accept state or federal

funds.

MD Registered sex offenders may not National and state criminal-history Failure to perform criminal-history checks

enter child care facilities. checks are required of all employees, or to disclose criminal-history information
adult residents, and owners of is a misdemeanor. Violation of the
licensed child care centers and licensing requirements is a misdemeanor.
registered child care homes.

MA The commissioner of probation must ~ Criminal-history checks are required  Violation of the licensing requirements
establish exclusion zones for persons  of all persons with the potential for may result in criminal sanctions of up to a
on probation for sexually violent unsupervised contact with children $5,000 fine or 2-%: years imprisonment, as
offenses or offenses against children  (including adult residents) in licensed well as civil fines up to $250 per violation.
to minimize contact with children. child care facilities (the nonoccasional

care of children).
Mi None located. State criminal-history checks are Violation of the licensing requirements is a
required of all employees and misdemeanor.
contractors of licensed child care
organizations (1 or more children).
Fingerprint-based national and state
criminal-history checks are required of
all owners and operators of licensed
facilities.

MN Sexual and violent offenders may not  Abuse registry and state criminal- Violation of the licensing requirements,
have direct contact with children ata  history checks are required of all including failure to perform criminal-
child care facility. operators, adult residents, and current history checks, may result in fines of up to

and prospective employees, $200 per violation.
volunteers and contractors with direct
contact with children of licensed child
care facilities (providing care to the
children of more than one family).
National checks are required if there
is reasonable cause to do so.
MS Registered sex offenders may not Abuse registry and fingerprint-based  Failure to perform criminal-history checks

own, operate, work, or volunteer at a
child care facility.

national and state criminal-history
checks are required of all operators
and adult residents of licensed child
care facilities (6 or more children).

may result in a penalty of up to $10,000
per violation. Operation of a child care
facility by a sex offender is a felony.
Employment of a sex offender by a child
care facility is a misdemeanor.
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Appendix I: Summary of State Laws Related to
the Employment of Sex Offenders at Child
Care Facilities

Prohibitions on sex offenders
working in or being present in child

Criminal-history check
requirements for child care

Civil and criminal penalties for

State care facilities facilities violations of licensing requirements

MO None located. Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements
criminal-history and abuse-registry may result in fines of up to $200.
checks are required of all employees  Subsequent violations are misdemeanors.
of licensed child care facilities (5 or
more children). Individuals receiving
federal or state funds for child care
and any other residents of their
homes must submit to criminal-history
checks.

MT A mandatory condition of State criminal-history and child- Violation of the licensing requirements

probation/parole for sexual offenders  protection checks are required of all may result in license revocation;
is employment restrictions to protect  owners, employees, and adult continued operation after revocation is a
potential future victims of the offender residents of licensed day care misdemeanor.

facilities (3 or more children). National

fingerprint-based checks are required

if the individual lived outside of the

state during the last 5 years.

NE None located. The Nebraska Department of Health ~ Violation of the licensing requirements
and Human Services is authorized to  may result in civil penalties of up to $5 per
conduct national and state criminal-  child authorized to be enrolled per day.
history checks of the owners and
employees of licensed child care
facilities (4 or more children).

NV A mandatory condition of Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements
probation/parole for sexual offenders  criminal-history checks are required of may result in administrative fines of up to
is a prohibition of coming within 500 all owners, employees, and adult $100 per violation.
feet of a child care facility. residents of licensed child care

facilities (5 or more children).

NH None located. Abuse-registry and fingerprint-based  Violation of the licensing requirements is a
national and state criminal-history misdemeanor and may also result in
checks are required of all employees administrative fines of up to $2,000 per
with regular contact with children and violation.
adult residents of licensed and
registered child day care centers (4 or
more children) and those that receive
state funds.

NJ Felons with violent, sexual, or child- National and state criminal-history Violation of the licensing requirements

victim convictions are prohibited from
employment at a licensed child care
center.

checks are required of all owners,
volunteers, contractors, and
employees of licensed child care
centers (6 or more children). Abuse-
registry checks are required of any
day care provider and adult residents
of their household accepting state
subsidies.

may result in criminal penalties, including
up to 18 months imprisonment.
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Append

ix I: Summary of State Laws Related to

the Employment of Sex Offenders at Child
Care Facilities

Prohibitions on sex offenders
working in or being present in child

Criminal-history check
requirements for child care

Civil and criminal penalties for

State care facilities facilities violations of licensing requirements
NM None located. Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements
criminal-history checks are required of may result in civil penalties of up to
all operators, employees, and staff of $5,000 per day.
child care facilities that provide care
for children for 20 hours or more per
week.

NY A mandatory condition of parole for Fingerprint-based national and state ~ Willful violation of the licensing
sexual offenders whose victims were  criminal-history checks are required of requirements is a misdemeanor.
minors is a prohibition on entering any all operators, employees, and
facility used for the care or treatment  volunteers of all child care facilities
of children. Sex offenders are (providing care for children for more
prohibited from operating or working or than 3 hours per day).
volunteering at a day care center
unless the Office of Children & Family
Services determines there is no risk to
the health, safety, or welfare of the
children.

NC Registered sex offenders may not be  Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements is a
present at child care facilities or work  criminal-history checks are required of misdemeanor and may also result in civil
or volunteer at any position involving  all operators and employees of penalties of up to $1,000 per violation per
the supervision, care, or instruction of licensed child care facilities (3 or day. Willful or repeated violations are a
minors. more children) and all providers who  felony.

accept federal or state subsidies.
ND Registered sex offenders may not Abuse-registry and fingerprint-based  Violation of the licensing requirements,
provide child care services. national and state criminal-history including employment of a sex offender, is

checks are required of all operators, a misdemeanor and may also result in
residents, and employees of licensed fiscal sanctions of $5 per violation per
child care facilities (more than 4 day.
infants or 5 children).

OH None located. Fingerprint-based national and state  Failure to disclose criminal-history
criminal-history checks are required of information is a misdemeanor.
all owners, operators, and employees
(with responsibility for the care,
custody, or control of children) of
licensed child care facilities (7 or
more children). Periodic checks are
required every 4 years.

OK Registered sex offenders may not Criminal-history checks are required  Violation of the licensing requirements or
work in businesses providing services of all operators, employees, and adult failure to perform criminal-history checks
to children or loiter within 500 feet of a residents and of licensed child care is a misdemeanor. Employment of a sex
licensed child care facility. facilities (providing care for more than offender in a child care facility may result

15 hours per week). in an administrative penalty up to
$10,000.

OR Predatory and violent sex offenders National and state criminal-history Violation of the licensing requirements

may not be on the premises of a child
care facility.

and abuse-registry checks are
required of all operators and
employees of child care facilities with
4 or more children. Periodic checks
are required every 2 years.

may result in civil penalties of up to $100
per violation or up to $500 for subsequent
violations.
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Appendix I: Summary of State Laws Related to
the Employment of Sex Offenders at Child
Care Facilities

Prohibitions on sex offenders
working in or being present in child

Criminal-history check
requirements for child care

Civil and criminal penalties for

State care facilities facilities violations of licensing requirements

PA Violent and sexual felons are Abuse-registry and fingerprint-based  Violation of the criminal-history check
prohibited from working at a licensed  national and state criminal-history requirements may result in civil penalties
child care facility. checks are required of all employees up to $2,500.

(with direct contact with children) of
licensed child care facilities (7 or
more children) and of all employees
and adult residents of registered
family day care homes (4 or more
children).

RI None located. Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements
criminal-history checks are required of may result in criminal penalties of up to
all operators and employees of $500 fine or 6 months imprisonment, or
licensed child care facilities (1 or both ($1,000 or 1 year imprisonment, or
more children) and registered family  both, for subsequent offenses).
day care homes (4 or more children
cared for in a residence).

SC Registered sex offenders may not Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements is a

work at a child care center. criminal-history checks are required of misdemeanor.
all operators and employees of
licensed child care facilities (13 or
more children) or licensed group child
care homes (7 to 12 children cared for
in a residence) and of operators and
adult residents of family child care
homes (no more than 6 children cared
for in a residence).

SD Registered sex offenders may not Abuse-registry and fingerprint-based  Hiring a sex offender or recent felon or
reside or be employed at any child national and state criminal-history employment by a sex offender or recent
care facility or day care home. checks are required of all operators,  felon in a child care facility is a

administrators, adult residents, and misdemeanor.
employees or volunteers who provide

care or supervision to children in

licensed child care facilities (13 or

more children).

TN Registered sex offenders whose Fingerprint-based national and state =~ Misrepresentation in the licensure
victims were minors may not be criminal-history checks are required of process, including in regards to the
employed within 1,000feet of any all employees and volunteers (who eligibility of employees to work in a child
licensed child care facility. work more than 20 hours per month)  care facility, is a misdemeanor.

of all child care facilities.
TX A mandatory condition of parole for Fingerprint-based national and state  Failure to perform criminal background

sexual offenders whose victims were
minors is a prohibition on entering a
day care facility.

criminal-history checks are required of
all operators, owners, employees, and
adult residents of licensed child care
facilities (more than 1 child).

checks or to preclude an individual with a
criminal history from employment or
residence at a child care facility is a
misdemeanor.
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Appendix I: Summary of State Laws Related to
the Employment of Sex Offenders at Child
Care Facilities

Prohibitions on sex offenders

working in or being present in child

Criminal-history check
requirements for child care

Civil and criminal penalties for

State care facilities facilities violations of licensing requirements

uT Registered sex offenders may not Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements is a
enter the premises of a licensed day criminal-history checks are required of misdemeanor and may also result in civil
care facility. all operators, directors, employees, penalties of up to $1,000 per day if the

volunteers, and adult residents of violation is likely to lead to the harm of a
licensed child care facilities and those child or $5,000 if actual harm to a child
accepting public funds. occurs.

VT None located. Abuse-registry and criminal-history Violation of the licensing requirements

checks are required of all employees may result in license revocation;

of licensed child care facilities (3 or continued operation after revocation may
more families) and any facility that result in civil penalties of up to $100 per
accepts public subsidies. violation.

VA Sexual or violent offenders may not be Abuse-registry and fingerprint-based = Employment of a sexual offender or child
employed or volunteer at a day care state criminal-history checks are abuser is a misdemeanor.
facility. Registered sex offenders may required of all operators, employees, Misrepresentation in the licensure process
not operate a family day care home. adult residents, and volunteers of is a misdemeanor. Violation of the

licensed child care facilities (1 or licensing requirements may result in civil
more children cared for in a penalties of up to $500 if the health and
residence; or 2 or more children cared safety of children are at risk.

for elsewhere) and of any facility that

receives state funds.

WA A mandatory condition of supervised Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements
release for sexual offenders whose criminal-history checks are required of may result in civil penalties of up to $250
victims were minors is a prohibition on all operators and employees who per violation per day.
serving in a paid or volunteer capacity have not lived in the state for the past
in a position involving control or 3 years of licensed child care
supervision of children. facilities.

wv A mandatory condition of supervised Fingerprint-based national and state  Violation of the licensing requirements
release for sexual offenders whose criminal-history checks are required of may result in license revocation;
victims were minors is a prohibition on all operators and employees continued operation after revocation is a
employment within 1,000 feet of a responsible for the care of childrenin misdemeanor.
child care facility. all child care facilities.

Wi Convicted sex offenders whose victims Abuse-registry and fingerprint-based  Violation of the licensing requirements
were minors may not be employed or  national and state criminal-history may result in civil penalties of up to
volunteer in a position that requires checks are required of all operators,  $1,000 per violation per day.
interaction with children. adult residents, and employees and

contractors with regular, direct contact
with children, and adult residents of
licensed child care facilities (4 or
more children). Periodic checks are
required every 4 years.

wy None located. Abuse-registry and state criminal- Violation of the licensing requirements

history checks are required of all staff may result in license revocation;
of licensed child care facilities (3 or continued operation after revocation is a
more children). misdemeanor.
Source: GAO analysis of relevant state laws.
(192351)
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